Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

£9.99Price

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

 

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious.

And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet.

And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ber-conservative Orange County, the pressuremedia and otherwiseis building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at schooleven developing feelings for a mysterious outcastthe blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has createda lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe inor stand up, come out, and risk everything.

 

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

 

-----

 

Starred reviews from Publishers Weeklyand Booklist *YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List *2017 Rainbow List

  • Details

    Imprint: Balzer + Bray

    Published: 14 November 2017

    ISBN: 9780062382870

    Pages: 335  

    Type: Paperback

Notice to European Customers:

Please be aware as of 1st July 2021, 

customers will likely be required to pay local import VAT (tax) to the shipping agent/courier on or before delivery on all shipments entering the EU.

We understand if this prohibits future orders, and thank you for visiting our shop.

- Gay's The Word