Testo Junkie by Paul Preciado

Testo Junkie by Paul Preciado

£20.99Price

What constitutes a "real" man or woman in the twenty-first century? Since birth control pills, erectile dysfunction remedies, and factory-made testosterone and estrogen were developed, biology is definitely no longer destiny.

In this penetrating analysis of gender, Paul B. Preciado shows the ways in which the synthesis of hormones since the 1950s has fundamentally changed how gender and sexual identity are formulated, and how the pharmaceutical and pornography industries are in the business of creating desire. This riveting continuation of Michel Foucault's The History of Sexuality also includes Preciado's diaristic account of his own use of testosterone every day for one year, and its mesmerizing impact on his body as well as his imagination.

 

-----

 

“Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity politics of taking T to others, and instead, in the tradition of William S. Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, he conducts a wild textual experiment. The results are spectacular . . . The gendered body will never be the same again.” —Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

“Paul B. Preciado’s brilliant book oscillates between high theory and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories of gender, Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today.” —José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia

Abo

  • Details

    Imprint: The Feminist Press

    Publication:17/9/2013

    ISBN: 9781558618374

    Pages: 432

    Type: Paperback

     

Social Media

  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Gay's The Word

66 Marchmont Street

London WC1N 1AB (Map)

Visit the Bookshop

Contact Us

Online Shop

Be In The Know

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Privacy PolicyShipping & Returns

 

© 2021 by Gay's The Word. Find Out More.

NONCYP Ltd. T/A Gay's The Word, Reg 1315476, Registered in England and Wales  |  Registered Office: Suite 1, 3rd Floor, 11-12 St James's Square, London, SW1Y 4LB