top of page
Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth

Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth

£9.99Price

‘Brimming from start to finish with sly humour and gothic mischief…a brilliant piece of exuberant storytelling’ - Sarah Waters

 

"It’s a terrible story and one way to tell it is this: two girls in love and a fog of wasps cursed the place forever after…’

 

1902, Brookhants School for Girls: students Flo and Clara are madly in love with each other, as well as completely obsessed with The Story of Mary MacLane, the scandalous debut memoir by 19 year old MacLane. A few months later they are found dead in the woods, after a horrific wasp attack, the book lying next to their intertwined bodies. Within five years the school is closed. But not before three more people die on the property, each in a troubling way.

 

Over a hundred years later, Brookhants opens its doors once more, when a crew of young actresses arrive to film a high-profile movie about the rumoured Brookhants curse. And as past and present become grimly entangled, it’s soon impossible to tell quite where the curse leaves off and Hollywood begins…

 

For fans of Sarah Waters, Curtis Sittenfeld and Shirley Jackson, Plain Bad Heroines is by turns sharply witty and deeply unsettling: a modern gothic novel that is utterly immersive and hugely compelling. 

 

-----

‘Atmospheric, sexy, creepy, full of lesbians and wasps, disturbing and funny and totally addictive’ - Kate Davies, author of In At The Deep End

 

‘Buzzing with wickedness…sly, wry and dangerous to know’ - Rosie Garland

 

  • Details

    Imprint: The Borough Press

    Publication Date: 17 February 2022

    ISBN: 9780008346959

    Pages: 500

    Type: Paperback

Notice to European Customers

All European Customers: You may be required to pay a local import tax on or before delivery for parcels entering the EU. Please check your local import rules for purchases from the UK.

 

Germany and Republic of Ireland: Due to a high return rate of parcels, we are sadly no longer shipping to Germany and the Republic of Ireland. 

bottom of page